The cutest Jailbird that you ever did see : McCall’s M6510

Extremely easy to make, McCall’s M6510 is quite a site, especially with this surprising fabric from Eurotissus.

When I picked out the fabric my shopping partner (yes, my mother) said it looked like a prison outfit. So I immediately thought of the prettiest man ever and his Jailhouse Rock. Which only made me want it more. Plus, it has this batwing shape that makes it look like a bird… the Jailbird was born.

I also made it in black cotton and it’s lightweight and fit for pretty much any occasion. It’s a bit more dramatic in black and the stifness of the cotton made for a more whimsical shape.

The M6510 has a couple of different designs with this pattern but I just went with the simplest one because it’s my favorite. The other ones look a bit more complicated to make.

The hardest thing about this pattern was probably the neckline. Other than that, it’s just a matter of cutting and sewing the fabric together. This is a type of jersey, which I don’t really recommend because of it’s stretchiness. It was harder to work with than the cotton. But it was worth it.

Oohuhhuh (the sounds Elvis makes when he concurs)

Image

See how I spread my wings ?

In Black :

Leave a Reply

